Skip to content
Brokers

https://www.hl.co.uk/

Hargreaves Lansdown

Visit Hargreaves Lansdown

UK-focused investment and savings platform offering Stocks and Shares ISA, SIPP, Fund and Share Account, Lifetime ISA, Junior ISA, cash savings, funds, shares, ETFs, investment trusts, gilts/bonds and managed ready-made options.

Etf BrokerMutual Fund PlatformMulti Asset BrokerBank Investment PlatformEtfMutual FundBondCash SavingsManaged Portfolio

87

/100

Overall score

Overall score looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Based on evidence16 sources
Trust
91
Cost
86
Withdrawal
89

Read first

Decision summary

87

/100

Overall

Overall looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.

Best for

UK residents using ISAs/SIPPs for long-term investing · Investors who want broad funds/shares/ETF access and strong UK support · Clients valuing esta…

Watch out

Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.

Trust signal

Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Withdrawal signal

Withdrawal looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Deposit
Minimums vary: Fund and Share £0 to open; invest from £100 or £25/month. ISA/Lifetime ISA/SIPP £100 or £25/month. Activ…
Pricing
Not applicable/not disclosed for the core HL investment platform; HL discloses dealing commissions, account fees and FX charges rather than…
Withdrawal
Same day before noon on a working day; next working day after noon/non-working day; 3-5 working days for some debit-card refunds; sell proc…
Safety
Not applicable to the core unleveraged investment platform products reviewed; no CFD/forex negative balance protection evidence found.

Availability

Countries and restrictions

Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.

Restricted Countries

UK-focused availability; UK-only website restriction conflicts with account comparison page allowing Fund and Share Account for UK and EEA residents.

Source

Evidence

Source-backed details

Trust5 fields

Regulators

Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom

Source

License Numbers

FCA register numbers disclosed by HL include 115248 (Hargreaves Lansdown Asset Management Limited), 915119/901007 (Hargreaves Lansdown Savings Limited), 189627 (Advisory Services), and 166016 (Fund Managers).

Source

Regulated Entities

Main regulated group companies: Hargreaves Lansdown Asset Management Limited; Hargreaves Lansdown Savings Limited; Hargreaves Lansdown Advisory Services Limited; Hargreaves Lansdown Fund Managers Limited.

Source

Negative Balance Protection

Not applicable to the core unleveraged investment platform products reviewed; no CFD/forex negative balance protection evidence found.

Source

Investor Compensation

FSCS protection: up to £85,000 for investment business default; cash held with banks described by HL as protected up to £120,000 per institution, subject to aggregate balances and FSCS limits.

Source
Cost7 fields

Minimum Deposit

Minimums vary: Fund and Share £0 to open; invest from £100 or £25/month. ISA/Lifetime ISA/SIPP £100 or £25/month. Active Savings/Cash ISA savings products start from £1 subject to product.

Source

Spread From

Not applicable/not disclosed for the core HL investment platform; HL discloses dealing commissions, account fees and FX charges rather than CFD/forex spread-from pricing.

Source

Commission

Online share dealing: £6.95 or £3.95 depending on prior-month trades; one-off fund trades: £1.95; monthly Direct Debit regular investing: no charge; phone/post: £29 per trade.

Source

Maximum Leverage

Not applicable; HL's public investment platform pages reviewed do not offer leveraged forex/CFD trading and present unleveraged investment accounts.

Source

Deposit Fee

No platform fee for deposits/top-ups identified; Direct Debit regular investing has no dealing charge.

Source

Withdrawal Fee

No withdrawal/transfer-out fee for standard Faster Payment withdrawals; no exit fees.

Source

Inactivity Fee

HL states there are no charges for inactivity.

Source
Availability1 fields

Restricted Countries

UK-focused availability; UK-only website restriction conflicts with account comparison page allowing Fund and Share Account for UK and EEA residents.

Source
Product5 fields

Tradable Assets

Shares, funds, ETFs, investment trusts, gilts and bonds, VCTs, LTAFs, ready-made investments and cash savings products.

Source

Trading Platforms

Trade/manage online via website, the HL app, and by phone; phone/post trades carry a higher charge.

Source

Account Types

HL offers Stocks and Shares ISA, Lifetime ISA, Fund and Share Account, Cash ISA, Junior ISA, SIPP, Active Savings, Junior SIPP and Bare Trust Account.

Source

Deposit Methods

Add money by debit card, Pay by bank/Easy bank transfer, manual bank transfer, Direct Debit and transfers in.

Source

Withdrawal Methods

Withdrawals normally go to a nominated bank account; recent card top-ups may be refunded to the debit card; Lifetime ISA house purchase withdrawals go to conveyancer.

Source

Before you decide

Things to verify

Restricted Countries

UK-focused availability; UK-only website restriction conflicts with account comparison page allowing Fund and Share Account for UK and EEA residents.

VS next

VS Hargreaves Lansdown with similar brokers

These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.

VS all

Important disclosure

Broker research, not investment advice

Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.

Compare carefully