Skip to content
Brokers

https://lightyear.com/

Lightyear

Visit Lightyear

Lightyear is a UK and EU investing platform offering a multi-currency account and access to thousands of stocks, ETFs, money market funds, Baltic bonds and crypto assets, with regional differences between its UK FCA-regulated and EU EFSA-regulated entities.

Stock BrokerEtf BrokerCrypto BrokerMulti Asset BrokerBondMutual FundCash SavingsCryptoStock

84

/100

Overall score

Overall score is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Based on evidence19 sources
Trust
87
Cost
78
Withdrawal
74

Read first

Decision summary

84

/100

Overall

Overall is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.

Best for

UK and EU retail investors · Cost-conscious ETF and stock investors · Investors wanting EUR/GBP/USD multi-currency support

Watch out

Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.

Trust signal

Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Withdrawal signal

Withdrawal is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Deposit
No general minimum deposit was disclosed. Savings/Vaults states no minimums/no maximums and 'From 1€ to infinity'.
Pricing
Lightyear does not disclose a spread-from trading model for stocks/ETFs; pricing lists fixed/percentage order fees and 0.35% FX conversion…
Withdrawal
Most withdrawals paid out within 2 business days; arrival depends on method/currency. · Local withdrawals are free from Lightyear; SWIFT wi…
Safety
No negative balance protection statement found; Lightyear appears to be cash/investment-only without leverage or short-selling.

Availability

Countries and restrictions

Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.

Restricted Countries

Personal accounts are available only in listed UK/EEA countries; unavailable outside the service area and for US tax residents/citizens or where restrictions apply.

Source

Evidence

Source-backed details

Trust5 fields

Regulators

Regulated in the EU by EFSA/Finantsinspektsioon and in the UK by the FCA.

Source

License Numbers

EFSA licence 4.1-1/31, EFSA crypto-asset services permission 4.1-1/147, FCA FRN 987226.

Source

Regulated Entities

EU services are provided by Lightyear Europe AS; UK services by Lightyear U.K. Ltd.

Source

Negative Balance Protection

No negative balance protection statement found; Lightyear appears to be cash/investment-only without leverage or short-selling.

Source

Investor Compensation

EU investor protection up to €20,000; US securities held with Alpaca are SIPC protected up to $500,000; UK client money/assets covered by FSCS subject to limitations.

Source
Cost7 fields

Minimum Deposit

No general minimum deposit was disclosed. Savings/Vaults states no minimums/no maximums and 'From 1€ to infinity'.

Source

Spread From

Lightyear does not disclose a spread-from trading model for stocks/ETFs; pricing lists fixed/percentage order fees and 0.35% FX conversion fee.

Source

Commission

ETFs free; US shares 0.10% ($0.10 min/$1 max); UK shares £1; EUR-denominated stocks/bonds/ETNs/ETCs €1; other European shares 0.10% with local minimums; crypto 0.45%; MMFs 0.10%-0.15% annual Lightyear fee.

Source

Maximum Leverage

Lightyear does not offer leveraged CFD/futures/options trading; no maximum leverage applies.

Source

Deposit Fee

Local bank deposits are generally free; fast card/Apple Pay/Google Pay deposits cost 0.6%; USD FedWire and USD SWIFT receiving fee is $6.11.

Source

Withdrawal Fee

Local withdrawals are free from Lightyear; SWIFT withdrawals have no Lightyear fee but intermediary fees may apply.

Source

Inactivity Fee

No monthly/account/custody fee; no inactivity fee found in official pricing/help pages reviewed.

Source
Availability1 fields

Restricted Countries

Personal accounts are available only in listed UK/EEA countries; unavailable outside the service area and for US tax residents/citizens or where restrictions apply.

Source
Product5 fields

Tradable Assets

6,000+ stocks/funds including US, European and UK stocks, ETFs, money market funds, Baltic stocks, Baltic bonds and EU crypto assets.

Source

Trading Platforms

Available on Android and iOS mobile apps and Lightyear web application; no API offered.

Source

Account Types

Personal and business accounts; UK GIA, Cash ISA and Stocks & Shares ISA; local tax-advantaged Estonian Investeerimiskonto and Hungarian TBSZ.

Source

Deposit Methods

EUR SEPA and cards/wallets; GBP FPS/CHAPS/BACS/cards/wallets/SWIFT; USD ACH/FedWire/SWIFT; HUF local bank transfers.

Source

Withdrawal Methods

Local withdrawals for EUR/GBP/USD subject to prior bank details; GBP and USD SWIFT withdrawals may be available after bank statement verification.

Source

Before you decide

Things to verify

Minimum Deposit

No general minimum deposit was disclosed. Savings/Vaults states no minimums/no maximums and 'From 1€ to infinity'.

Spread From

Lightyear does not disclose a spread-from trading model for stocks/ETFs; pricing lists fixed/percentage order fees and 0.35% FX conversion fee.

Negative Balance Protection

No negative balance protection statement found; Lightyear appears to be cash/investment-only without leverage or short-selling.

Investor Compensation

EU investor protection up to €20,000; US securities held with Alpaca are SIPC protected up to $500,000; UK client money/assets covered by FSCS subject to limitations.

VS next

VS Lightyear with similar brokers

These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.

VS all

Important disclosure

Broker research, not investment advice

Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.

Compare carefully