Skip to content
Brokers

https://www.merrilledge.com/

Merrill Edge

Visit Merrill Edge

U.S. Bank of America/Merrill online investing platform offering Merrill Edge Self-Directed brokerage and Merrill Guided Investing advisory portfolios through Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated (MLPF&S).

Stock BrokerEtf BrokerMutual Fund PlatformOptions BrokerBondOptionCash SavingsManaged PortfolioStock

86

/100

Overall score

Overall score looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Based on evidence22 sources
Trust
93
Cost
86
Withdrawal
80

Read first

Decision summary

86

/100

Overall

Overall looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.

Best for

U.S. self-directed investors · Bank of America banking customers · Stock, ETF, mutual fund, bond and options investors

Watch out

Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.

Trust signal

Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Withdrawal signal

Withdrawal is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Deposit
Self-Directed: no balance minimum; Guided Investing: $1,000 minimum; CMA: $20,000 minimum funding, not applicable to ME…
Pricing
Not applicable to this stock/ETF investment broker profile; no CFD/FX spread schedule identified as a core product in reviewed sources. · S…
Withdrawal
Public official sources reviewed did not disclose a standard withdrawal processing time for Merrill Edge Self-Directed withdrawals. · Wire…
Safety
No retail negative-balance protection disclosed; margin agreement warns clients can lose more funds than deposited and remain responsible f…

Availability

Countries and restrictions

Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.

Restricted Countries

Agreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.

Source

Evidence

Source-backed details

Trust5 fields

Regulators

Registered with the SEC as broker-dealer and investment adviser; member FINRA and SIPC.

Source

License Numbers

Official Merrill/BofA sources reviewed did not disclose SEC/FINRA registration or CRD numbers in the captured evidence.

Source

Regulated Entities

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated (MLPF&S) and Managed Account Advisors LLC (MAA).

Source

Negative Balance Protection

No retail negative-balance protection disclosed; margin agreement warns clients can lose more funds than deposited and remain responsible for shortfall.

Source

Investor Compensation

Member SIPC; investment products are not FDIC insured or bank guaranteed and may lose value.

Source
Cost7 fields

Minimum Deposit

Self-Directed: no balance minimum; Guided Investing: $1,000 minimum; CMA: $20,000 minimum funding, not applicable to MESD/MGI/MGI with Advisor/MEAA.

Source

Spread From

Not applicable to this stock/ETF investment broker profile; no CFD/FX spread schedule identified as a core product in reviewed sources.

Source

Commission

Self-Directed online stock/ETF/options commission $0; options $0.65/contract; broker-assisted fee lower of $29.95 or 5.00% of principal.

Source

Maximum Leverage

No fixed maximum leverage ratio was disclosed; margin requirements vary by security/transaction and are subject to change.

Source

Deposit Fee

Returned deposit/ACH-related fees listed at $0 in Merrill Edge Self-Directed fee schedule; standard deposit fees not separately disclosed.

Source

Withdrawal Fee

Wire $24.95; ATM transaction $0; full ACAT/account transfer $49.95; closeout $49.95 for BASIC/IRA/IRRA/ROTH/SEP/SIMPLE.

Source

Inactivity Fee

No inactivity fee was listed in the official Merrill Edge Self-Directed miscellaneous account/service fee schedule extracted, but the official source did not explicitly say 'no inactivity fee'.

Source
Availability1 fields

Restricted Countries

Agreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.

Source
Product5 fields

Tradable Assets

Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, fixed income/bonds, options, brokered CDs, and cash sweep/cash management products.

Source

Trading Platforms

Merrill Edge online/web, Merrill Edge MarketPro, and Merrill mobile apps.

Source

Account Types

Self-directed, guided/advisory, general investing, retirement, education and small business account options, including CMA/BIA/IRA/ROTH/SEP/SIMPLE/529 account types.

Source

Deposit Methods

Bank of America transfers, external financial institution transfers, mobile check deposit, direct deposit/EFT, and account/securities transfers.

Source

Withdrawal Methods

EFT, checks/check-writing, debit card, wire transfer and linked Bank of America/Merrill transfers.

Source

Before you decide

Things to verify

Withdrawal Processing Time

Public official sources reviewed did not disclose a standard withdrawal processing time for Merrill Edge Self-Directed withdrawals.

Restricted Countries

Agreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.

Spread From

Not applicable to this stock/ETF investment broker profile; no CFD/FX spread schedule identified as a core product in reviewed sources.

VS next

VS Merrill Edge with similar brokers

These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.

VS all

Important disclosure

Broker research, not investment advice

Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.

Compare carefully