Skip to content
Brokers

https://www.rbcdirectinvesting.com/

RBC Direct Investing

Visit RBC Direct Investing

Canadian bank-backed self-directed investing platform from RBC Direct Investing Inc., offering Canadian and U.S. stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, fixed income and GICs with web, mobile and advanced dashboard platforms.

Stock BrokerEtf BrokerMutual Fund PlatformOptions BrokerMutual FundOptionBondPrecious MetalsCash Savings

84

/100

Overall score

Overall score is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Based on evidence24 sources
Trust
94
Cost
78
Withdrawal
79

Read first

Decision summary

84

/100

Overall

Overall is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.

Best for

Canadian residents · Existing RBC banking clients · Long-term investors using registered accounts

Watch out

Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.

Trust signal

Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.

Withdrawal signal

Withdrawal is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.

Deposit
No minimum to open; GoSmart page states no minimum investment and comparison page states opening an account is free.
Pricing
Not applicable: RBC Direct Investing is not a CFD/forex spread broker; equity/fixed-income pricing is commission/quote based. · Commission…
Withdrawal
RBC transfers out are real-time during business hours, otherwise next business day; locked-in/RRIF/RESP excluded from that statement. · Reg…
Safety
No negative balance protection disclosed; margin borrower remains responsible to repay the loan and interest even if securities decline.

Availability

Countries and restrictions

Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.

Available Countries

Intended for residents of Canada; products/services are available in Canada and other jurisdictions where permitted by law.

Source

Restricted Countries

Non-residents of Canada should not access RBC Direct Investing automated services; offers are not solicitations outside Canada including the United States.

Source

Evidence

Source-backed details

Trust5 fields

Regulators

Member of the Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization (CIRO).

Source

License Numbers

Specific registration or license numbers were not disclosed on the reviewed official pages.

Source

Regulated Entities

RBC Direct Investing Inc. is the Canadian regulated entity and CIPF member.

Source

Negative Balance Protection

No negative balance protection disclosed; margin borrower remains responsible to repay the loan and interest even if securities decline.

Source

Investor Compensation

Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund (CIPF).

Source
Cost7 fields

Minimum Deposit

No minimum to open; GoSmart page states no minimum investment and comparison page states opening an account is free.

Source

Spread From

Not applicable: RBC Direct Investing is not a CFD/forex spread broker; equity/fixed-income pricing is commission/quote based.

Source

Commission

Commission schedule varies by asset and account type; key online/mobile stock/ETF commission is $9.95 standard.

Source

Maximum Leverage

Maximum leverage is not stated as a fixed ratio; margin loan value varies by security and market value.

Source

Deposit Fee

RBC states it does not charge a fee to transfer in an account; other institutions may charge.

Source

Withdrawal Fee

Registered and transfer fees vary: TFSA/FHSA $0, HBP/LLP $25, RSP $50, wire $45, cheque $10, transfer out $150.

Source

Inactivity Fee

No inactivity fee found on reviewed official pricing and FAQ pages; RBC discloses $0 account maintenance fee but not a separate inactivity fee.

Source
Availability2 fields

Available Countries

Intended for residents of Canada; products/services are available in Canada and other jurisdictions where permitted by law.

Source

Restricted Countries

Non-residents of Canada should not access RBC Direct Investing automated services; offers are not solicitations outside Canada including the United States.

Source
Product5 fields

Tradable Assets

Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, GICs, bonds and other fixed income, IPOs, gold and silver certificates.

Source

Trading Platforms

Online Investing platform, RBC Mobile app and Trading Dashboard.

Source

Account Types

GoSmart supports TFSA/FHSA/RRSP; full-suite supports registered, non-registered, business and more account types.

Source

Deposit Methods

RBC transfers, bill pay from other financial institutions, in-kind transfers, PAC, Avion points and mobile app funding.

Source

Withdrawal Methods

Transfers to RBC bank accounts, automatic funds transfer to Canadian financial institutions, wires, cheques and registered plan withdrawals.

Source

Before you decide

Things to verify

Negative Balance Protection

No negative balance protection disclosed; margin borrower remains responsible to repay the loan and interest even if securities decline.

VS next

VS RBC Direct Investing with similar brokers

These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.

VS all

Important disclosure

Broker research, not investment advice

Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.

Compare carefully