Compare brokers side by side before you choose.
Pick up to four brokers and quickly spot the differences that change a decision: trust, fees, platforms, withdrawals, restrictions, and notes you should verify.
Built for final-shortlist moments: select brokers, scan the trade-offs, then open the profile for deeper source notes.
Choose brokers
Pick 2-4 brokers to compare
The comparison reads the same evidence fields used by broker profiles, so users can scan scores, regulation, costs, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.
Broker 1
Broker 2
| VS field | ![]() | ![]() |
|---|---|---|
Decision summary | ||
| Overall score | 81 | 91 |
| Trust score | 86 | 100 |
| Cost score | 82 | 89 |
| Platform score | 78 | 94 |
| Withdrawal score | 70 | 89 |
| Best for | Beginner and intermediate U.S. investors · Existing SoFi banking/loan customers wanting an integrated app · Investors seeking $0 stock/ETF/options commissions | Evidence supports Fidelity as a U.S.-focused, highly regulated multi-asset broker for stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds/CDs, options, cash management, managed portfolios, and sepa… |
| Watch out | Needs verification | Needs verification |
Trust & regulation | ||
| Regulators | SoFi Securities LLC is FINRA/SIPC member; SoFi Wealth LLC is an SEC-registered investment adviser. Source | Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC is SEC registered and regulated by FINRA; FBS and NFS are members of NYSE and SIPC. Source |
| License numbers | SoFi Securities LLC: CRD# 151717/SEC# 8-68389; SoFi Wealth LLC: CRD# 167958/SEC# 801-78185. Source | FBS CRD# 7784 / SEC# 8-23292; NFS CRD# 13041 / SEC# 801-50706, 8-26740. Source |
| Regulated entities | SoFi Invest is a trade name used by SoFi Wealth LLC and SoFi Securities LLC; SoFi Wealth provides robo/advisory services and SoFi Securities provides brokerage/self-directed services. Source | Primary securities brokerage entities are Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC (FBS) and National Financial Services LLC (NFS), each member NYSE/SIPC; advisory and crypto entities differ by product. Source |
| Negative balance protection | No negative-balance protection identified; SoFi margin disclosure warns it is possible to lose more than the initial investment when using margin. Source | Not applicable/not disclosed as a CFD-style negative balance protection policy; margin trading can create debt/interest obligations. Source |
| Investor compensation | SIPC up to $500,000 including $250,000 cash; not market-loss protection. Source | SIPC coverage up to $500,000/$250,000 cash plus Fidelity excess SIPC; FDIC sweep coverage may apply to eligible cash programs; important exclusions apply. Source |
| Restricted countries | Official public sources reviewed confirm U.S. state/territory registrations for SoFi Securities but do not provide a complete non-U.S. country restriction list for account opening. Source | U.S.-persons focused; sanctioned countries/prohibited parties restricted; no exhaustive country availability list found. Source |
Costs & account conditions | ||
| Minimum deposit | Self-Directed minimum to begin investing: $5; Robo-Advisor minimum to begin investing: $50. Source | $0 to open a retail brokerage account; Fidelity states no account minimum and ability to invest with as little as $1; exceptions apply by account/product. Source |
| Spread from | Not applicable: SoFi Invest is not presented as a forex/CFD spread broker in the researched official sources. Source | Not applicable to Fidelity's core U.S. stock/ETF brokerage model; securities trade by exchange/market prices rather than quoted CFD/FX spreads. Source |
| Commission | $0 commissions on U.S. stocks, ETFs and options; other/regulatory fees apply. Source | $0 online U.S. stock and ETF trades; $0 online options commission plus $0.65/contract; other product/service fees apply. Source |
| Maximum leverage | No maximum securities margin leverage ratio disclosed in the researched official pages; margin loans use tiered interest rates instead. Source | No universal maximum leverage ratio disclosed for Fidelity retail brokerage; margin borrowing is available subject to approval and margin requirements/rates rather than a single max leverage figure. Source |
| Deposit fee | Incoming ACAT $0; incoming wire $0; returned/insufficient funds $30. Source | $0 Fidelity fee for EFT and Fidelity does not charge wire fees; external banks may charge. Source |
| Withdrawal fee | Outgoing ACAT $100; outgoing wire $25; DRS $115/security. Source | $0 Fidelity fee for EFT and domestic bank wire withdrawals; foreign exchange wire up to 3% of principal; receiving bank may charge. Source |
| Inactivity fee | $25 per account per 6 months of login inactivity. Source | No explicit inactivity-fee line found in official fee schedule; official account pages state no retail brokerage account fees/no account or subscription fees. Treat as needs manual confirmation before publishing as '$0 inactivity fee'. Source |
Markets, platforms & payments | ||
| Tradable assets | Stocks, OTC securities, ETFs, options, IPOs, fractional shares, mutual funds, alternative/interval funds, private market funds/SPVs through Templum referral, and managed robo portfolios. Source | Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, crypto, fixed income, bonds and CDs; Fidelity says stocks include domestic and international. Source |
| Trading platforms | Trading via the SoFi app or website; app available on iOS and Android. Source | Fidelity.com, Fidelity mobile app, Fidelity Trader+ Web/Desktop/Mobile mode, and legacy Active Trader Pro Classic. Source |
| Account types | Self-Directed includes Roth, Traditional, and SEP IRAs; Robo-Advisor includes Roth, Traditional, and SEP IRAs; Robo supports individual brokerage and retirement accounts. Source | Broad account menu including taxable brokerage, retirement/IRA, cash management, HSA, custodial/youth, education, trust/business, managed and crypto accounts. Source |
| Deposit methods | Supported money movement includes incoming ACATs, incoming wires, and ACH/cash transfer from SoFi Bank accounts for eligible IRA contributions; other deposit methods not fully enumerated publicly. Source | EFT/ACH, bank wire, check/mobile check, direct deposit, recurring deposit, Fidelity-to-Fidelity/account transfer, transfer of assets, and eligible payment apps. Source |
| Withdrawal methods | Outgoing ACAT, outgoing wire, and DRS transfers are listed with fees; ACH withdrawal processing/details were not fully disclosed in public fee sources. Source | EFT/ACH, bank wire, paper check, Fidelity-to-Fidelity transfers, third-party/person-to-person transfers and eligible debit card/ATM access. Source |
| Withdrawal processing time | Public official sources reviewed did not disclose standard withdrawal processing times for SoFi Invest. Source | EFT withdrawals 1-3 business days; bank wire same day if submitted by 4 p.m. ET; paper check about 5-6 days. Source |
BrokerVS provides broker comparison research only. Scores and evidence can vary by country, account type, and legal entity; users should verify source links before opening an account.

